Sunday’s sunburn

Status update – Sun burned like a mofo

As per my previous post, I’ve been spending most of my time around other people. I’m around people at work, at home, meeting regular friends for fitness or meeting new friends for activity. My alone time is sparse.

I’m thrilled that my friends are involved in weight loss and fitness as much as I am these days. It’s really brought us all together. I do regular jogs and hikes with Amber and meet Jax for aquafit 2 or 3 times a week.  I’ve also met some new friends from the weight watchers message boards (hey Lindsay and Jules) that are trying to meet for hikes or walks every week.  It’s a little community of people who simply get it. They get why you hesitate for a minute when people start talking about going for lunch, they get why you skipped the party last night and want to meet for a jog this morning instead. They celebrate and encourage every step of the way and no one is short of good ideas or information that make life a little bit healthier.

But, here’s the thing people, I’m kind of a loner. I do like people and I’m very friendly and even a nice person but I feel like I get lost when I don’t get enough time alone. I need time by myself. When I started in Feb. I did everything by myself. Every night was time alone on jogs and it was me against the bulge but then everything changed so quickly and somehow I started to feel overwhelmed by all these new people plus trying to fit in my (really super and awesome) friends (that I love so much).

So, this morning I set out on a solo bike ride adventure to 3rd beach in Stanley Park. It’s the furthest away beach and doesn’t get as crowded as English bay and less children than 2nd. A great place to hide away from everyone and leave the city behind for a while.

UM- WRONG! Today was the Vancouver Sun Run. I spent the entire bike ride going head first into a marathon.

No kidding. All the way there.

I finally made it to third beach with my little picnic for one and my book.

my bike – all by its lonesome.

When I arrived around 8:30 or so, there were only 2 other people on the beach with the same idea. It felt nice to be within proximity of other people without actually having to talk to them.  Ignoring everything else going on around me, I read my book and nibbled on fresh fruit. It felt like 3 hours had passed but in reality, I had been laying there for nearly 6 hours. When I finally looked around, I realized the beach filled up and the seawall was crowded and I was sunburned like a lobster.  Yes, I put on sun screen… the good kind. But, I am the fairest of all the fair-skinned people I know. It seems like I need a full-on sun shield to protect me on days like this.  I also don’t get the ” now it will fade to a nice tan” part. My skin will not hold a tan. The only colour I get in the summer is cherry red and pale.

So much for Hot Yoga tonight. There is no way I’ll be able to wear pants for at least 2 days.

sun burned legs – It looks like some horrible rash.

I finally did weigh in today. I’ve been too busy to be obsessed this week.

198 – this is the magical number that means I’ve lost 10%. I just lost 10% of myself.

-1.4

Not horrible but not great either. I know I can do better. I’m already doing better, minus the sun stroke.

Update and weekly goals tomorrow.

Hope everyone enjoyed the sun shine today.

About stackofpennies

Penny for your thoughts???? Here's a few on weightloss View all posts by stackofpennies

2 responses to “Sunday’s sunburn

  • Jules

    Can’t believe I got a special mention – woo!
    PS Sometimes I worry that I like my own company too much and I’m going to end up as a crazy cat lady, so I totally understand the ‘loner’ thing!

  • Jules

    Aaaargh! Just accidently deleted your email without even reading it – damn hotmail.
    Please resend it!

Leave a Reply

