Heidelberg and time to think

Heidelberg Germany

I’ve had two days on my own in Heidelberg and too much time to realize how much crap (tasty crap that is) I’ve consumed from day one. I did lose 4lbs at some point along the way but then proceeded to indulge to levels even the most gluttonous belly would be ashamed of.

Here I am, at 192lbs in the sweltering heat trying to avoid any accidental reflections of myself that may show me that I look just as bad as I feel. That sluggish, lazy, sweaty, chubby girl is sitting right here. But heres the thing. I realize that THIS isn’t me. This isn’t how I like to feel and I can’t wait to get back home and back into my life. I miss everything about home today.  The routine of getting ready in the morning and not having to fight for a shower with 5 hung over french dudes that stumbled into the hostel dorm at 1am, the way it feels to push through a 5km jog and get to 10kms, the way it feels to eat fresh healthy foods that have never heard the word ‘fried’ or ‘processed’, the kind of sweat that comes from the burn of a good work out opposed to just sitting at a cafe trying to avoid the sun.

Don’t get me wrong, I have loved almost every minute of my trip but this single day spent alone allowed me time to really FEEL how much I miss my life.  I also thought a lot about what I want to accomplish when I get back and how I’m going to make that happen.  Even laid back Europe couldn’t make me change my excessive neurotic need to plan and organize. What can I say? I absolutely THRIVE in routine. I love routine, I love knowing what I’m going to do and what to be excited about, I love knowing when to bust my ass and when to simply enjoy a moment.

I’ve kept a realistic goal of losing 10lbs per month up until I left for Europe but today I decided that I want to lose 30lbs by September 4th. Ambitious! I know. Realistic? Slightly less so. Do-able? With determination, consistency, and hard work, I think YES.  I will have 10 weeks to lose 30lbs; 3lbs per week.

Week 1: DETOX – Water water water. Only fresh fruit and veggies, and lean proteins. NO PRESERVATIVES, NO SUGAR, NO CHEATING

Every week after week 1: ROUTINE
Work out – 2 hours 5 times weekly and even go to the gym to start doing weights.
Ride bike home from work every day (also a money saver)
FOOD: Stay on plan every single day. EVERY DAY.  Did you hear me? Every single day.  Still working out the details but will fill you in when I have it worked out.

Anyone have a Summer plan? any ideas or tips on healthy summer meals or nonsugary ways to beat the heat? Please share.

Toni

About stackofpennies

Penny for your thoughts???? Here's a few on weightloss View all posts by stackofpennies

One response to “Heidelberg and time to think

  • Lisa

    Welcome back!

    I think your goal is totally do-able! I too aim to loose 10 lbs/ month. I’m a firm believer in aiming high!

    I plan to beat the heat with water – and water alone. I tend to feel gross if I am full and it’s hot outside – so that should be good for my portion control. If you figure out any good tips let me know, meanwhile, i’ll be guzzling the water down!

Leave a Reply

