When the wind changes directions

I mentioned a few posts ago about a semi-difficult summer and living situation. Well my friends, the whirl wind of change has changed my life quite a bit in the last 2 weeks.

I went from Single city girl to coupled up and moving to the burbs.

Remember that boyfriend from way way way back, before you knew me? of course not. I rarely talk about him or what we had or how hard it was to not be with him. My focus was on me and my life, my health, my plate. me me ME MEMEmemememe. In 6 months I regained a sense of identity that had slipped away gradually through the ups and downs of my mid twenties. I came out in the end (but this is not really the end) happier, stronger, and knowing who I am and what makes me awesome as a person, and even what’s not so awesome and needs more work.  

One of the most useful skills I’ve picked up through my weight watcher’s experience and losing my first 40lbs is the ability to make good choices. I don’t have to second guess everything and hope for the best. I look at what is in front of me for what it is and know what to look for and what will be the best choice. This is not just food related. I recently noticed how this straightforward approach works for pretty much everything. So, when Casey (said ex-boyfriend) showed up out of no-where after 6 months with declarations of  “I love you and want to live the rest of my life with you”,  a huge decision had to be made. 

So, here we are, 3 weeks later, signing a lease and picking out furniture and talking about what to name our future dog, and… I couldn’t be happier.

Casey is one of the healthiest people I have ever known but that doesn’t mean I am not still responsible for my own choices. He’s super healthy but comes with a bad habit of getting take out and pizza when he doesn’t feel like cooking.  I’ve filled him in on what I’m doing with all of this Weight Watcher’s stuff, what points are and why I run to the computer before I eat anything,  “eat anything Saturdays”  and what kind of food WE are going to eat in our new place. He’s fully on board and supportive. So, starting October 1st, we will be in our new place (gorgeous by the way) with plans of gardens, home-made meals, fun hikes and outdoor activities together.

That’s the slightly off topic update of my life and what’s been happening behind the blog. 🙂

About stackofpennies

Penny for your thoughts???? Here's a few on weightloss View all posts by stackofpennies

Leave a Reply

